27

大家都来找乐子

中川爱子  个展

完成近期的洛杉矶展览后,中川爱子将参加家酒店和安杰当代艺术画廊的艺术家驻留项目,她将在这一个月期间准备她在亚洲的首次个展。

中川爱子出生在日本东京,但自90年代后期便在美国纽约生活和工作。刚到纽约时,她只能讲很少的英文,为现今炙手可热的日本艺术家村上隆做助理,当时村上隆也刚刚开始他的纽约艺术生涯。1999年中川爱子在纽约布鲁克林创立了艺术小组Faile (请点击链接查看更多有关英文信息),这个涂鸦小组的成功可比英国涂鸦教父Banksy。

2008年中川爱子决定离开Faile小组单独发展,她的独创作品有很多花卉设计、少女漫画和街头流行文化的图像,并用综合材料呈现出来。中川爱子大量使用镂花喷绘、喷漆和丝网印刷技术来创作出充满震撼力的巨幅作品,同时把可爱的元素转化成女性美丽而性感的挑衅画面。作为日本的移民,中川爱子不断的探索着美国式的流行,再富有创造力地塑造出新的作品。

近期中川爱子的作品在纽约布鲁克林美术馆、罗马马可未来美术馆、迈阿密Deitch项目和上海当代艺术馆,以及美国、欧洲和亚洲的大型画廊和美术馆均有展出。

single-exhibition.php

27

“Here’s Fun For Everyone”

AIKO Solo Exhibition

Fresh to Shanghai from recent exhibitions in Los Angeles, AIKO will be participating in the JIA Hotel and Andrew James Art residency program for one month to prepare for her first solo exhibition in Asia.

AIKO (Nakagawa) was born in Tokyo but has been living and working in New York since the late ’90. Speaking very little English at the time she found a job to be an artist assistant to fellow Japanese artist Takashi Murakami who was also just starting out life in New York.  By 1999 she had founded the Brooklyn based international art collective Faile (click link more details) who went on to have international success only succeeded by Banksy in the urban art world.

In 2008 AIKO  decided to go it alone and focus on her solo work which consists of floral designs, girlish cartoons and street pop culture images are all incorporated on her mixed media works. AIKO utilizes both stencil, spraypaint and silkscreen print techniques to create her vibrant large-scale works which often transform “cupcake” images to playfully portray female sexuality and beauty. Being an immigrant from Japan, AIKO has herself been discovering Americana-type pop imagery and recreating it in an innovative way.

She has recently shown her works at BrooklynMuseum in NY, MACRO Future in Rome, the Deitch Project in Miami, and Shanghai MoCA in China as well as major galleries and museums in US, Europe and Asia.

single-exhibition.php